The Florida Suncoast Watercolor Society was founded in 1983 with 17 Charter members and 24 Associate members. The original purpose to foster the advancement of and promote excellence in the art of watermedia painting remains our focus today. As of August 2023, 90 of our 170 members attained Signature status and 27 are Master Signature members. We are an IRS tax-exempt 501(c)(3), not-for-profit organization for members who reside on the west coast of Florida. Most of our members reside in Manatee and Sarasota counties, but a number of our members are in the northern counties of Pasco, Pinellas, and Hillsborough - and the southern counties of Charlotte, Lee and Collier. As we begin to offer more virtual opportunities to exhibit, meet, and learn - our spread-out and diverse region is coming together in ways not dreamed of in our modest beginnings. 

Linda Wokoun, FSWS is President of Florida Suncoast Watercolor Society through May 2024. An award-winning artist and a frequent exhibitor with FSWS, FWS, and the Transparent Watercolor Society of America, she is also a popular workshop instructor throughout Florida. We are very fortunate to have a watermedia artist of Linda's caliber lead our organization during these post-COVID times. Her goals for the organization are to streamline our administrative functions and build on our organizational strength drawing from lessons learned while engaging more FSWS members and working more closely with other societies throughout Florida.

Jenny Medved, HWS, NWS, FWS, FSWS-M is the immediate past President of FSWS 2020-2021. She is a frequent exhibitor and an award- winning, nationally renowned artist. She led the organization through the difficult COVID-19 lock-down, a time that changed how we connected as an organization. She expanded our internet capability and communications network that allowed FSWS to find new ways of connecting during this unprecedented time. She streamlined the Exhibitions take-in process that is now a model process. Her innovative spirit is a big reason that our members continue to enjoy our regional Gulf Coast community of watermedia artists sharing our art and supporting each other.

PAST PRESIDENTS - Over the last four decades, we are fortunate to count the following artists among our past Presidents. We are grateful for their lasting influence and dedicated service. 

1983 Frank Jennings

1983-1984 Dorothy Drum

1984-1986 Lucille Blankenship

1986-1988 John Crawford

1988-1989 John Chrisitiana

1989-1990 Jacqueline Clark

1990-1991 Nancy Fish Hawkins*

1991-1992 Winifred Long

1992-1993 James Archibald

1993-1995 Monty McMullan

1995-1996 Arthur Sarlin

1996-1997 Jaime Friedli

1997-1998 Herman Bek-Gran*

1998-1999 Jacqueline Clark

1999-2000 Rita Rust, Acting

2000-2001 Pat (Joy) Robertson

2001-2003     Lois Harper

2003-2004     Douglas Teller*

2004-2006     June Morse

2006-2007     Sherren Baughman*

2007-2008 Anne Abgott

2008-2010     Nancy Colby

2010-2011     Carole Dougherty

2011-2013 Roger H. Parent

2013-2014 Joanne Myers Warber

2014-2015 Mary Louise Ringers

2015-2016 Jerome Chesley

2016-2017 Gail Ribas

2017-2018 Diane G. Simon

2018-2019 Leda Palermo

2019-2020 Susan C. Tobin

2020-2021 Jenny Medved

* Deceased

Email us at

Florida Suncoast Watercolor Society [FSWS] is a registered 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation. A copy of the official registration and financial information may be obtained from the division of consumer services by calling toll-free 1-800-help-fla) or from the website:  Registration does not imply endorsement, approval, or recommendation by the State of Florida. Registration #CH73752

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software